The countdown to the next British Basketball League (BBL) season has officially begun with the release of the fixtures and competition systems for 2019-20.

Following previously announced changes to competition formats, the Lions, defending BBL League Champions and BBL Cup holders will begin the 2019-20 season on Friday 20 September at the Worcester Wolves in the Cup Group Stages, before facing the Plymouth Raiders at the Copper Box, on Sunday 29th September, also in the Cup.

The BBL Championship will commence on the 8th December when the Glasgow Rocks are first in the Box and the BBL Trophy First Round will open in the New Year on the weekend of 4/5 January.

Please find below links to PDF copies of the fixtures:



BBL Championship

Featuring all 12 BBL teams now in a 22-game schedule, each team playing home and away. The team that finishes the season in first place just like the London Lions did, will be crowned BBL Championship winners.


Featuring all 12 BBL teams split geographically into two groups of six. The groups are:

North – Glasgow, Newcastle, Sheffield, Manchester, Cheshire, Leicester

South – Worcester, Bristol, Plymouth, Surrey, London, London City

The top four teams in each group will then advance into the Quarter Finals with the top two hosting one-legged ties:


Quarter Finals (Single Leg) – 29 Nov – 1 Dec 2019


North 1 v South 4

South 1 v North 4

North 2 v South 3

South 2 v North 3


Semi-Finals (Two Legs) – mid-December


Winner of N1 v S4 v Winner S2 v N3

Winner of S1 v N4 v Winner N2 v S3


The BBL Cup Final will take place on Sunday 26 January 2020 at Arena Birmingham.


BBL Trophy


The Trophy will remain the same format as last season, with the 12 BBL teams and 4 non-BBL teams competing in a bracket knockout tournament, with the First Round an open draw.


First Round (Single Leg – Open Draw) – 3/4/5 January 2020


Quarter Finals (Single Leg) – 17/18/19 January 2020


Semi-Finals (Two Legs) – late January/early February (midweek)


The BBL Trophy Final will take place on Sunday 15 March 2020 at the Emirates

Arena, Glasgow.


BBL Play-Offs


The top eight teams in the BBL Championship will qualify for the Play-Offs and will compete in a Best of 3 series, with ties being determined by each club’s league position.


1st v 8th

2nd v 7th

3rd v 6th

4th v 5th


The higher seed team will be away in Game 1 and home in Game 2 (and home again for Game 3 if necessary). If a lower seeded team defeats a higher seeded team, they will take their seeding.


Quarter Finals (Best of 3) – 24/26/29 April 2020 (on or around)


Semi-Finals (Best of 3) – 3/6/8 May 2020 (on or around)


The BBL Play-Off Final will take place on Sunday 17 May 2020 at The O2,

London, and tickets are available now [CLICK HERE].